Introduction

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by moldy, Mar 4, 2004.

1. moldy

moldy Well-Known Member

Newbie here, but have really enjoyed reading all the posts so far. Right now, I live on 1 1/2 acres on the edge of a major city (we are inside the city limits by a number of feet). I would really love to move out further while still being able to commute to work. I work as a nurse and really enjoy my job, in limited quantites! Our city and development have tight restrictions on livestock - we would like to raise chickens and maybe a goat or two.
    So far, we have a large garden in which we raise vegetables, and rabbits (4H projects for the kids). I am working on skills I would need on a homestead. DH hunts and can dress out deer and birds. I know how to bake bread, stock a pantry, sew, and can.
    Dream property would be one with good water, some wooded area, and fairly close to a paved (or semi-paved) road. Dream house would have much mass (built from concrete or a berm home), with a rainwater system and possibly a windmill or solar panels.
    I'm looking forward to learning a lot from you all and living vicariously thru you for a while (till we find the right property and are able to finance it!).

Moldy

2. Dawndra

Dawndra I'm back

Welcome aboard! You'll enjoy it here...

my DH & I are going to be building a basement house (not a berm) this summer.... I'll be your guinnea pig!

3. cowgirlone

cowgirlone Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum Moldy!

4. CMATE

CMATE Well-Known Member

Hi Moldy,
    if you are already in Kansas, I believe they are giving land away right in your state.....perhaps it is because there are no jobs there??? Marquette, I think.