installing a windmill

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by stirfamily, Aug 16, 2004.

  1. stirfamily

    stirfamily Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    2,006
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Location:
    Indiana
    We may be getting an 8 ft. Aeromotor windmill and tower. Is there anyone in NE Indiana, S. Michigan or NW Ohio who puts them up? Or is it possible we can do it ourselves?

    Thanks
    Karen in NE Indiana
     
  2. Cyngbaeld

    Cyngbaeld In Remembrance Supporter

    Messages:
    28,248
    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Location:
    SE Missouri
    Prob if you looked in 'homepower' mag, there will be listings of people who do that. Tho you could prob do it yourself.
     

  3. uncle Will in In.

    uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    7,154
    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    There is a man in Middleberry In that does everything that's needed to rebuild and erect the old time water pumping mills. He uses a crane on a truck to set up the tower, and place the fan and motor on top the tower. I'm certain he could do what you have to have done. Problem at this moment I don't have his name or address. However I can get it with a call to the neighbors house this evening if you think you have any interest in it. Middleberry is just south of the Mi state line east of Goshen. Amish country.
     
  4. Stand_Watie

    Stand_Watie Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    115
    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Location:
    Texas - midway between Dallas and Tyler
    We used to drive through there on family vacation Uncle Will, and always stopped at that little Amish run ice cream place (if Middlebury is the town I'm remembering).
     
  5. Ken Scharabok

    Ken Scharabok In Remembrance

    Messages:
    6,844
    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    I hauled one up from relatives in FL to my farm in TN. Had to take the top mechanism off to have it overhauled. Believe me, you want to assemble the complete windmill on the ground and then raise it as a unit. It would have been very, very difficult to have reattached it with the tower up.

    Make sure you have adequate anchoring as the blades put up a good bit of wind resistance.

    Ken Scharabok
     
  6. Ohiosteve

    Ohiosteve Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    46
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Ohio
    Karen,
    I just put up a windmill this summer. It has a 8' wheel on a 40' tower. I pulled the tower upright with my tractor and rented a platform crane to install the head and wheel. I don't know how Ken was able to get the whole unit upright without buckling the angle tower. Maybe it was much shorter than mine. I know I was worried that I was going to buckle mine with nothing attached.
    There is a fellow here in eastern Ohio that installs these things all over the world. He is Ken O'Brock. He advertises alot in the homesteading mags. If you cannot find his ad let me know and I will give it to you. He is the guy I bought my Aeromotor from. HTH
    Steve
     
  7. Bret F

    Bret F Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    654
    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Location:
    Idaho
    My Dad has one we set up a number of years ago.

    He put the tower together on the ground, the jacked up the end and attached the head and wheel. He had put in concrete footings with heavy angle irons sticking out about 2 feet for bolting the legs to. He chained two legs to thier respective footings, then we pulled it up with the tractor. We had a second tractor on the back side with a cable as a safety in case it wanted to keep going once we had it up. We went nice and slow and it raised without a bit of problem. Once it was up it took a little jostling with a bar and come-a-long to get the legs all set just right, and then we drilled and bolted them to the footing irons.