Homesteading Forum banner

inducing a miscarriage?

4K views 15 replies 8 participants last post by  Vicki McGaugh TX Nubians 
#1 ·
Hey folks, I'm pretty new to goats. Had them when I was a kid, got some French Alpines recently that are being managed by our farm hands at the moment. Anyway, came across some interesting lore that I wonder if there is any truth to (I hear lots of stuff from the old timers around here and I'm sure half if complete bull and half are pearls of wisdom...it's just deciding which is which!)

If you have a doe that has had an "unexpected visit" from a buck, are there herbs you can give her early on to terminate the pregnancy? This is of particular interest to us because we are getting Nigies and if an "accident" happened with a big boer buck, you would surely lose the doe while kidding (or so it would seem). I know there are vet administered drugs, but I've heard those have dangerous side effects and aren't worth it. Anyway, this just came up in a conversation and I'm curious now. Something to file away for future reference.

#2 ·
It is not actually true. My brother in law has pygmy's and his boer buck got one. She had no problems delivering.....however it started getting hularius when the baby was about the same size as the nanny and still sucking. It picks the back end of mommy up to suck very funny!! I can see your point though and probly would not want to have to worry. I have no idea about aborting in goats but I know a dog has to have it 48hrs or less after penitration.

#3 ·
If you have cows or horses, you probably have some Oxytocin (sp?) on hand anyways (it is also used in humans). It would make sense if it works with goats also. You give them in the muscle and it start uterous contractions. Helps deliver dead babies, clean/deliver the afterbirth, and we've used it to abort in horses. Talk to your vet about it.

#4 ·
just for starter, herbs used in the wrong hands, can and will have serious side effects and can kill a doe.