Inbreeding & breeding season

Discussion in 'Sheep' started by Unregistered-1427815803, Jul 28, 2004.

1. I'm a novice and know almost nothing about sheep. I have a gentleman and lady and their single female offspring. I just heard that inbreeding in sheep poses no problem. Is this true??? So I don't have to separate the lamb from the ram?

Also, are sheep like goats with regard to breeding season -- roughly August through February?

Thanks. Sorry for my ignorance.

2. Ross

Ross Moderator Staff Member Supporter

Breeding season depends on the breed but yes in general terms that's not a bad calendar. I wouldn't breed daughter to father and you certainly can get problems or at least less than sterling results easier than fame and glory with close inbreeding. Again breed will make a difference, some are bound to tolerate it better than others.

3. BetsyK in Mich

BetsyK in Mich Well-Known Member Supporter

I certainly WOULD NOT breed dad to daughter. Like Ross said, you are likely to end up with bad results. When you do this kind of close breeding your more apt to get the worst genetic traits, not to mention birth defects, etc. Since your just starting out with sheep better to have a good/easier experience the first time lambing. Check around and see if you can find an unrelated ram to put your ewe lamb with in the fall. When you breed determines when you lamb, so think carefully about newborn lambs and cold weather, etc. I put my ram with the ewes in November (around the 15th) and have lambs in April (weather warm, nice grass for grazing, etc.)

Since you have these animals you know about worming on a regular cycle, the right minerals and you had them sheared in the spring, right?

4. GeorgeK

GeorgeK Well-Known Member