I'm a newbie!!!

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Imagoofygoober, Jul 3, 2005.

1. Imagoofygoober

Imagoofygoober Well-Known Member

Hello everyone! I am new here. :D I was drawn to your forum because we (my family) are very interested in homesteading. We have been looking for a way to get out of the rat race for some time now. Interests include organic farming, animal husbandry and learning how to be a self-sustaining family (or as close to it as we can get).

We are teetering on the verge of buying our first home. We live in a very busy, expensive tourist area and just don't know whether or not we really want to be stuck here forever. We are accused of being hippies ALL the time, LOL. We used to make jewelry & tye-dyes to to supplement our income. ;) Haven't done that in a while.

We thought perhaps we should go ahead and buy the house and turn around and sell it in a few years, hopefully making a little profit (home prices are skyrocketing around here) and using that to get us started on our homesteading dreams.

Ideally we hope to support ourselves, but we realize we have a lot to learn. We are considering mentioning our idea to family members to see if they want to join us.

I look forward to meeting everyone and learning more from people who have done this or are going through the process of making that big change. Any advice is most welcome. Just startin' out here! Help! :p

2. countribound

countribound Happy in Houston

Welcome!
    I just joined this message board last month and have gotten all kinds of great advice and resources already! We are planning our "big move" in about two years. Although DH and I are quite the opposite of "hippie" :p , I like this forum because it seems there are all types of people with very unique perspectives. I too am look forward to organic farming and living a self-sustaining lifestyle, so welcome!

3. Imagoofygoober

Thank you, countribound! I wish you much luck in your endeavors as well!