Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Wait................what?
2,257 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We are installing a wood stove in the house and are working on the hearth area now. Got the actual hearth done and now I'm kind of stuck on the part going up the wall behind, don't know what you'd actually call it. We have Durock running up the wall with a 1 1/2" dead air space between that and the actual wall. Now, it's ugly. What can a person put over that? I want something fireproof (obviously) put a little better looking than plain Durock. I don't really want brick either. That would be rather space intensive, I think. Would tile work on a vertical surface? And would that be something a total novice could do? Any other ideas?

·
Registered
5,509 Posts
thermopkt said:
We are installing a wood stove in the house and are working on the hearth area now. Got the actual hearth done and now I'm kind of stuck on the part going up the wall behind, don't know what you'd actually call it. We have Durock running up the wall with a 1 1/2" dead air space between that and the actual wall. Now, it's ugly. What can a person put over that? I want something fireproof (obviously) put a little better looking than plain Durock. I don't really want brick either. That would be rather space intensive, I think. Would tile work on a vertical surface? And would that be something a total novice could do? Any other ideas?
Can a novice do tile?

Yep, and produce some very nice-looking results...

·
Premium Member
18,008 Posts
Might I suggest faux river rock or flagstone. It's not much more work than tile. Just nail down "chicken wire" to the Durock, apply a layer of grout, "glue on the synthetic rock, and then grout between the rock. It will look something like this example"

·
2,257 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Cabin Fever said: