Idea about land parcels

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Greenthumber, Jul 13, 2004.

1. Greenthumber

Greenthumber New Member

I've been researching eco-agriculture for a few years, and have been looking at various large land parcels in Arkansas. I just ran across this forum yesterday, and have seen numerous posts about people wanting to find a nice plot of land to homestead.

I'm wondering what size parcel most of you look for and why? I'm also wondering if most "like-minded" folks on this board that are looking for land would entertain buying within the same area (sort of a community, but not a weird commune or something like that).

The reason I ask is that there seem to be many efficiencies that can be created by a community, which is probably why the Amish/Mennonite communities have been so successful. There are economies of scale that can be created with tools, skills, produce, intellect, livestock, machinery, etc. in a community atmosphere. For example, you've got a built in co-op that has the scale to sell excess goods to a market.

I'm in a financial position to consider buying a large (500 plus) acre property and splitting it into various sized acreages for re-sale. Part of the benefit for me, of course, are the potential financial gains. Just as important is the ability to live within a community of good people with similar virtues/values.

I'd like input on this idea, and what people are looking for with regard to "homesteading".

Thanks!

2. Freeholder

Freeholder Well-Known Member