Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,349 Posts
Your blog said: "The Dewalt Tracksaw is essentially a table saw replacement. It provides the same precision as a table saw, but at less than 20 lbs. is extremely portable. This tool is a must have for woodworkers and furniture/cabinet builders."

Sorry, but this is a ridiculous and untrue statement. I'm a journeyman carpenter, built all of the cabinetry for our home and do a lot of woodworking, so I know a little about woodworking and tools. NOTHING replaces a table saw! A good table saw is the heart of virtually every well equipped shop. To even suggest this could "replace" a table saw is silly; to suggest it has the same accuracy is downright foolish. Could this DeWalt saw be useful, yes, could it replace a table saw, absolutely not.

·
Registered
964 Posts
For the $500 it costs, a contractor tablesaw is only $125 more. Grizzly saw.

This isn't a replacement for a tablesaw, its mostly for panel cutting, at least in my opinion. I use either a guide clamp, or a chunk of whatever straight plywood I have on hand. Use the skill saw or router, and run it against the fence. A less expensive saw plate guide is only $24. Ad a $15 guide, and your ready to cut straight lines.

Michael

·
Premium Member
3,693 Posts
And then you drop it, bending the track.

Seriously, I've used those things. They ain't terribly precise and they are darned awkward to work with.

·
I love South Dakota
5,320 Posts
Dh and I have been doing the building stuff for many years now, started with our first house. We are now into year five of a total gut and rehab of our third house.

I can only think of a few times where this tool would have really been useful. But then, DH can do a remarkable straight cut freehand with the skillsaw.

I can't see this replacing a table saw, it replaces having to clamp a straight board on sheet of plywood. I'd use a miter saw for cutting 2x4's, way easier and it won't slip.