Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this calf thing and need help or advice I got a bull jersey calf and his stomach hangs way low and he is only a month old he is constantly mowing on like I tried to stop I stopped giving him grain I stopped giving him anything I kept water in his pen he keeps eating and trying to munch on the straw he's laying on and I don't know what kind of a bloat it is I just know it's a bloat cuz it's so it's belly just so tight and I'm not sure where I went wrong I have an old barn it's breezy so letting him go outside when it's like 28 below cold weather and it took me a little while to get a jacket for him so I kept him inside with the heat lamp so and reading where it says they obviously need exercise like anybody or any other living thing to be able to digest his food wellI only plan on keeping them in there until I was going to get a jacket so he could go outside and and have exercise and graze around but then a family emergency came up and I didn't get to feed him his bottle on the exact time a couple nights my dad had to go to the hospital and had to go with him and they wouldn't let us out of the hospital for anything I kept telling them that I have a baby calf at home I need to get feeding they wouldn't let me go so now he got his times all off I don't know if it's from stress from different time feeding or what or so I don't know whether or not I need to do like I heard baking soda and water I don't know if he needs a tube down the throat like I've read I read that's bad also and I've read a needle is bad for stabbing in his belly I just I'm I don't want to make the wrong move in hurt him more

·
Registered
122 Posts
Load him up and take him to a large animal vet. The advice they give will be money well spent.