I think I will be a new mom today!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Goats' started by ajharris, May 23, 2006.

1. ajharris

ajharris Amanda

I bought a nubian on Saturday. The guy I bought her from says she is due any day. She has lost her ligs and has mucus dripping! :) I am on pins and needles. My Saanen is due any day also. Do I need to seperate them or leave them together? I am new at this. I have had a pigmy weather and doe before but not any that was preggo. Any advise would be appreciated

Amanda

2. happyladybug

happyladybug Well-Known Member

have you been able to tell which is higher on the heirarchy?? i have two pygmys that i just bought and when the one went into labor sunday night.. the other (who is higher up) was head butting her when she laid down to
    deliver.. i ended up separating them.. as i didn't know what she would do when the delivery was done.. i didn't want anybody hurt...

both mine are first freshners - so both were new to delivering and i assume
    didn't know what was going on..

janis

3. mary,tx

mary,tx Well-Known Member Supporter

Yes, separate them by all means. Since they are new to each other, and different breeds as well, I would not chance leaving them together to kid this time.
    mary

4. Sweet Goats

Sweet Goats Cashmere goats

I always seperate mine. I NEVER let them kid with other goats around. That is if I can help it. I believe it is best if they don't have to worry about the other goats. They need to just think and deal with their babies. Keep us posted.

5. TexCountryWoman

TexCountryWoman Gig'em

Congrats!

I would separate them even if they were not pregnant because you need to quaranteen every new goat you bring to your farm. You would hate for the Nubian to contaminate your Saanen and her kids with something they have no immunity too. Who knows what that Nubian has, even though you may trust the previous owner, niot worth the chance. Also, the new doe may have a variety of worms not already in your goats pen/feces.