I NEED HELP or ADVICE

Discussion in 'Goats' started by malickfarms, Jul 10, 2006.

1. malickfarms

malickfarms Well-Known Member

Ok--I am new to the goat world, read every book and magazine before I made my choices of what goats I wanted to purchase from a breeder...Oh the troubles Ive had!

Ok, I got two Lamanchas and one boar!

Had a few problems with milk replacers in the beginning, but thanks to everyone here...they really helped me with recipes!

NOW---Here is my new problem! My boar goat is 10 weeks old ....about a week ago I started weening her, the next day I noticed she was more laid back then the usual..so continued to think maybe she wasnt happy with the weaning process! Called my vet and he said they do act tricky sometimes when weaning--well, after five days of watching her, I literally have been LIVING in my barn! Ive noticed she is light on her back feet, and to me her knee caps were swollen, and she didnt want to run anymore. So, I started to think when was the last time I saw Daisy on the playscape...days!

So, in a panic called the vet out on Friday of last week, told me that she was born with Streptacimia....messed that up...another word for it is naval ill!
    I called the breeder and she said NO WAY--we iodine belly buttons right after birth & and we dont lack the colostrum on them. Well, I explained to her that the vet said she was born with it, and unfortunatley you cannot tell until the symptons begin to come out! Breeder just doesnt think this is anything of concern. I can see now she doesnt care about goats like we apparently do. I would of called by now checking on her, if she once was one of my kids.

Well, after crying for days now, I have accepted that she has this and all I can do is follow what the vet says...well, I am so confussed my question is ..is he treating this as seriously as it is? or maybe this isnt serious...cant find much on this anywhere!

He has her on 3ml of penicillian twice a day ...for 14 days