I Need Advice On My Pigs!! HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by Unregistered-1427815803, May 22, 2004.

1. I have a large pig pen with two 6 month old pigs in it. They have always been gentle pigs around me. Often my chickens fly into the pig pen to pilfer pig food. Two days ago I discoverd my rooster in the pig pen several bitten. Now I went outside this morning and I discovered a hen missing. Sure enough, I looked in the pig pen and I discovered a foot. They are eating my chickens!! Are these pigs dangerous??? I often have children on my property. I cannot keep pigs if they might somehow harm a child. I'm very concerned. Can anyone offer me advice? Do these pigs need to be put down?

Thanks
    Kimberly

2. mtfarmchick

mtfarmchick Well-Known Member

I'm kinda new to pigs myself but the way I understand it is that pigs are omnivors(sp?). They will eat mice, chickens and other small birds. I don't think your pigs are mean. In my opinion though they are dangerous in the same way that a horse or tame cow is dangerous. They are bigger than you and don't realize their strength. Make sure to that the kids know not to put their fingers near the pigs' faces because a pig will bite them.

3. Snowdancer

Snowdancer Well-Known Member

Kimberly, I was raised on a small pig & beef farm way back in the 50's. Even back then I remember my father Never letting us kids go near the pig pens. His pigs were quite tame but as he always told us-"never trust a 200+# pig, they can & will eat anything they can corner".
    We were only allowed near but never in the pens when my father was present.

Fast forward to the last 20 yrs. We've raised many pigs and I have never had any actually attack me outright but I have had them bite at my thighs, ankles and hands while I'm doing chores. We have always had ours within a fenced pasture so their aggressiveness wasn't due to overcrowding.
    I have never had any of my chickens eaten but I do know others who have.