i milked daisy, but did a ruin the milk?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Caprice Acres, Sep 10, 2005.

1. Caprice Acres

Caprice Acres AKA "mygoat" Staff Member Supporter

I did it, i milked her. i had to lift the leg nearest to me over knee and have death grip on it, but she was actually pretty good! she'll get used to it, and hopefully so will i. (my hands feel weak and it's hard to type.. lol)
    well, i pasturized the milk and now it smells bad, like when u heat milk up in the microwave for too long. i read that you can "scorch" the milk. is this the problem? i thought that i under heated b/c after i had it cooled and everything, i found out that it was supposed to be 165 degrees, compared to my 150 degrees.
    can i repasturize, and did i ruin this milk?
    it wasnt going to be for people neways, for our dogs b/c there were floaties in it, i didnt wash her udder well enough. im still learning... hehe.

2. BiGtImEfArMeRs4

BiGtImEfArMeRs4 Well-Known Member

Good job at milking her! Sorry I am no help with the pasterizing part, but if you are using water to wash her udder, you might not want to. We were doing that for our goats, and our vet told us that that cuases them to get mastitis. You can buy this teat dip that works great! I do not know if this is true or not, but I am just warning you in case! Good luck with getting your milk pasturized and getting your goat to stand better!
    Heather

3. Caprice Acres

thanx,lol :D
    i used a water and iodine mix, is this ok?i also used fight bac.

4. cricket

cricket Well-Known Member

Use warm soapy water to wash her with before and after milking and then spray her with viniger when finished. The vinager helps sterilize and keeps bugs and ickies away.

5. BiGtImEfArMeRs4

BiGtImEfArMeRs4 Well-Known Member

That's what we were using too, warm soapy water.

6. Goat Freak

Goat Freak Slave To Many Animals