Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
writing some wrongs
6,873 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been canning for about three years, but this is my first try at making pickles. I just never had enough cucumbers from the garden, and never found a good deal on fresh produce elsewhere. My haul from the garden worked out to a perfect 7 pints of hamburger dills from the Blue Book. I can't wait to try them!

Here they are, along with the 5 pints of tomatoes I canned yesterday. I have very hard water so there's white stuff all over them -- haven't rinsed them off yet, they're still cooling but they all "plinked"! :D

Shredded zucchini and onions are in the fridge right now, salted, getting ready for a batch of relish. :dance:

·
Registered
5,321 Posts
I can hear them....ping...ping...ping.The jars are so pretty. I am trying a new recipe this year I found at a blog site, called Shaker Pickles. They stay out on the counter in a big glass jar, you add different ingredients, and shake, shake,shake. I am anxious to try them out, it is an interesting recipe..first salt water, then alum water, then apple cider, next will be sugar and spices.Mine will be sweet pickles. I love lime pickles, too.

·
Banned
2,134 Posts
I won't tell if you won't.

·
Registered
2,192 Posts
Edayna, I'm so proud of you. Garlic dills is my thing. I just need to learn now to grow them first.

I take stadard dill pickles and mix them with fresh garlic to make a super strong garlic dill pickle relish. I've never tasted anything bottled as good as my fresh relish is...I want to work on that.

·
Banned
2,134 Posts
edayna said:
Sorry, bad joke...The subject can be read as a declaration or confession depending on your outlook...And the fact that I'm sleep deprived...I went with it in a moment of weakness. lol

·
writing some wrongs
6,873 Posts
Discussion Starter #8