Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
585 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Especially Bella and Rocky right now! They're a six month old doeling and a two month old buckling, and we separated them from they're moms last night! (As you can probably tell, I haven't done this very many times before.) We're going to sell them really soon, and they have to get used to being separated, but the poor things were so unhappy! (Well, actually, Bella and her mom weren't yelling, but they did go right next to each other as soon as they were allowed to be together.) Rocky and Sundae, however? Sundae sounded like she would lose her voice, she was so loud, and Rocky just kept squeaking back at her. It sounded so sad! (Actually, that was only this morning when I was about to let them go back together; I'm pretty sure they did sleep the whole night.) As a farmer, I shouldn't feel like this, but really, they're more pets than anything (for now, until we start milking them.) We have sold two kids before, but it was hard then, and it'll be hard now. Especially since they'll probably go to different farms; the two we sold before went to the same home because they were both whethers, or at least one was and the other was going to be. This time, they'll go to separate homes because nobody wants a buck and a doe together, LOL. And anyway, they would be separated as soon as they got there; Bella with the does and Rocky with the bucks.
Do any of you feel this way? Or did you, when you were relatively new to goats?
- GoatGirl

·
Premium Member
3,681 Posts
I usually have a bunch of babies to put together at one time. They don't make much fuss. Now, when I have to take kids away to get them disbudded and they are only a few days old ..... that's another story! But all is good again as soon as they are reunited.

·
Super Moderator
12,837 Posts