Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
642 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Tonight we are going over to pick out our first does. She has Oberhaslis, Alpines, and Nubians I think. I really like the looks of the Obers. I absolutely loved the temperment of all of her goats. We will be doing a taste test and watch them on the stand.

Do any of these breeds have advantages or disadvantages to them?

·
Pook's Hollow
4,570 Posts
And the adventure begins! :)

I have no experience with Oberhaslis, so I can't help you there. Nubians can be noisy - my 3/4 Nubian is quite the drama queen at times! :rolleyes: She isn't the world's greatest milker, but then I bought her as a kid from a breeder who doesn't milk his goats. She does raise very nice, well-muscled babies and she's a great mother.

My grade Alpine is a FF and I'm very pleased with her milking capacity. Not the world's greatest mother though - she rejected her doeling and didn't even complain when I weaned her buckling. In her defense, she was a bottle baby herself. I've been told that they can be mean to other goats, but not as mean as one of my Nigerians! :hobbyhors

Pick the ones you like the look of - you'll be looking at them for a long, long time, I hope. I'm sure the people who are selling will be able to give you an idea of the best goats, personality-wise, for you.

·
Cashmere goats
2,023 Posts
congratulations down Home. you should post pictures after you get them. Like it has been said before. "they are like Potato chips, You can't have just two". :dance:

·
Registered
187 Posts