I am now a pygmy goat farmer!!

Discussion in 'Goats' started by famer_manda, Mar 25, 2006.

1. famer_manda

famer_manda I Love CHICKENS!

I was promoted today to goat farmer instead of just chickens and ducks. My husband and I bought 2 sister pygmy goats. I really would love to go by for the male but maybe we will some time this summer. The one pygmy goat MIGHT be pregnant the guy said. It definately is fatter than the other one. Is there some way to know for sure if its pregnant other than waiting for awhile (up to months) and waiting for more signs? I know goats are pregnant for 5 months. When my husband was loading it up, I did see udders. Can they be of any use to telling me anything other than it was a female like I already knew.

I am going to be hanging around here a lot. I have relatively no goat knowledge. I just know a bit about what the owner had told us. He had so many types of goats. I was in goat heaven over there :)

Amanda

2. SHELBY

SHELBY Well-Known Member

Try feeling on her right side more towards the underneath and towards her udder. That's where we felt ours and found out that she was expecting.

Good luck..

3. famer_manda

I found that one of them has swollen udder whereas the other one the area is flat besides for the udder finger thingies. That means she would be less than 6weeks to go right? I found a webpage that said the udders start getting ready around 4-6wks.

4. Caprice Acres

Caprice Acres AKA "mygoat" Staff Member Supporter

Where are you in MI? I am in Brooklyn. I have two buck pygmies (unregistered) and I am willing to stud them out. (I wouldn't own bucks myself if I knew someone with a stud, they're gross creatures, hehe) Welcome to pygmy goats!! See them at www.freewebs.com/mygoats/

5. Ramblin Acres

Ramblin Acres Well-Known Member

Amanda,