Humane, affordable and ethical culling methods?

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by bojay, Jul 21, 2005.

1. bojay

bojay Active Member

Hi all. I'm relatively new to raising rabbits for profit and am having a hard time getting up the nerve to cull the diseased or deformed rabbits from the herd myself. I took one to be put to sleep by the vet, costing $45, there goes any hope for profit. I hope someone out there knows how I feel.

What are some of the ways experienced farmers/breeders use to humanely euthanize suffering rabbits?

Thanks for your responses.

2. rzrubek

rzrubek Flying Z

Don't take this as rude or anything. If you can afford it, the most humane way is to use CO2, ask Tracy how she does it. I snap their neck either by hand if they are small, or with the use of a bar across their neck that i stand on and pull up on their hind legs. Now i know to some this would sound barbaric, but it kills them instantly. They do kick for awhile, but that is just nerves firing randomly, just like chickens do. If they are diseased, dispose of them by buring or by putting out in the trash in a sanitary way. If they are just deformed, then eat them. Rabbit is the most nutritious meat there is.

3. hollym

hollym Well-Known Member

4. rzrubek

rzrubek Flying Z

Thanks for the link holly.

5. Jaclynne

Jaclynne Well-Known Member Supporter

Does anyone know if Hollym's suggested method affects the meat quality? It sounds like a good way if you cannot do it 'hands ons', and I can't. Killing is the one thing I have trouble with, I have no problem with cleaning, cutting or packing the meat. I haven't gotten rabbits for this reason.

Halo

6. hollym

hollym Well-Known Member

Gosh I'm glad I'm not the only one, Halo, I feel so stupid that I'm this way. Keep having pep talks with myself about how it's the test of a 'real' homesteader, etc.