HT problems

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Hummingbird, Jul 19, 2005.

  1. Hummingbird

    Hummingbird Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    949
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ok, gang, I need your help. I still cannot get into HT from my home computer. I deleted all cookies, temporary page, history, etc. I checked my Active X thingys and am not sure what I'm looking at there.

    I can type www.homesteadingtoday.com in the address bar, it starts to act like it's going there but never progresses. It won't even load the heading of the page - and even if I let it set for 10 minutes or more, it won't go to the site. I can get anywhere else I want to on the web except apparently HT.

    HELP!!!! :grit:

    Nance
     
  2. tallpines

    tallpines Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    9,283
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    A woods in Wisconsin
    Maybe try doing a GOOGLE search of Homesteading Today.
    When the site option comes up---do a click.

    Let us know.
     

  3. Kathy in MD

    Kathy in MD Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    1,351
    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland
    I'm assuming you are at work or at a library since your status shows you are logged in. Try logging out at your present location. When you get home remove all internet temp files(don't forget this will log you out of all your favorites so make sure you know your passwords) and use Tallpines' suggestion and googling 'Homesteading today '
     
  4. Cosmic

    Cosmic Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    596
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Location:
    Ohio
    Try turning off your firewall, see if that helps.

    I got this DSL thingee and it will do that on some sites. Don't like me running my own firewall, supposed to have its own. Has software included that spies on you and reports to another site.
     
  5. AngieM2

    AngieM2 Big Front Porch advocate

    Messages:
    44,854
    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Maybe lower the security factor on your internet tools option. There's one site I use to have problems with a med security, but okay at med-low security

    Angie
     
  6. Hummingbird

    Hummingbird Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    949
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Location:
    Missouri

    Did that one, no good. :(


    Keep the ideas coming - I'm leaving work at noon and will print these out before I go. Thanks so much! I really appreciate it!

    Nance
     
  7. mysticokra

    mysticokra Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    329
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Location:
    Estillfork, Alabama
  8. Barb

    Barb Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    735
    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    West River SD
    The remedy Angie recommended worked for me. I found my security set too high.
     
  9. Hummingbird

    Hummingbird Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    949
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Location:
    Missouri

    Ok, I was very close to trying this one last night but have one question - will that also delete my "favorites" list from my drop down list? If so, I'll need to make notes or print out my favorites list before taking this step.

    Have also tried adjusting my security levels but to no avail!

    Thanks!

    Nance

    Ok, I'm logging out now!
     
  10. Nature_Lover

    Nature_Lover Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    596
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Location:
    Missouri
    clearing temp files will not erase favorites,
    it will erase cookies (where your automatic login option settings are stored)

    Try adding HT to your trusted sites list in
    Tools
    Internet Options
    Security tab
    select 'trusted sites'
    set security level slider to low or medium
    select 'sites' button
    type homesteadingtoday.com
    click add
    apply

    then go make sure it didn't get put in your restricted sites
    Tools
    Internet Options
    Security tab
    select 'restricted sites'
    sites button
    scroll down to the "H"s
    if it's there, select it and click 'remove' button
    apply, Ok
     
  11. SherrieC

    SherrieC Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    874
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Location:
    Indiana
    I tickled that for the first time in dayyyyys the computor is not banning my ip. :rock:
     
  12. Hummingbird

    Hummingbird Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    949
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ok, gang - I'm back but without my McAfee. We tried everything we could possibly think of and everything you all suggested. Only thing that worked was completely shutting off my McAfee. Now WHY IS THAT?? Is it a fluke that just instantaneously occured or is there some deeply buried setting that I don't know about?


    Thanks again for all your help!

    Nance
     
  13. mysticokra

    mysticokra Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    329
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Location:
    Estillfork, Alabama
    McAfee's product is poor. The only thing worse is Norton's Anti-virus.
    We switched to Trend Micro's PC-Cillin years ago and have been very happy with it.
     
  14. Hummingbird

    Hummingbird Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    949
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Location:
    Missouri
    LOL - ok, so now I'm totally confused. Shut the computer off last night, of course the McAfee reloaded when the system came on. I used this link

    http://www.homesteadingtoday.com/index.php?

    and I jumped right in here. :shrug:

    Oh well?!?! At least it worked!

    comptuers!!

    Thanks so much for all your help. Have a great day!

    Nance
     
  15. SherrieC

    SherrieC Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    874
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Location:
    Indiana
    Well, I'm back to having my Ip banned? Or maybe its just in the Goat part of the forum?