Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was at a Home Show today and saw tons of furniture made out of......I'm guessing pine and I know some was oak. It got me thinking about making my own furniture for certain areas of the house, but the majority of wood I have is Cottonwood from the cotton trees I took out last year and have several more that could come out. Is it hard enough for building? If so, is there a special treatment for it for longevity? Any ideas?? :confused:

· Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks mousecat, Apparently it is a soft wood, I checked it yesterday and by pressing hard with a thumbnail it with made an slight impression. I am just starting out with wood working (now that I've had 3 christmases of everyone just buying me tools :) ) so far all I have built before was outdoor structures--barn, chicken coop etc. and have wanted to get started on crafting indoor pieces as well. Thanks!!

· Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·