How to treat painful heel?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Ravenlost, Mar 27, 2005.

1. Ravenlost

Ravenlost Well-Known Member Supporter

Day before yesterday I hurt my heel. I think it's a blister, but I'm not sure. I wore my old worn out tennis shoes that I have been wearing every day for three years. The inside of the heels on the shoes has worn out and lost the padding. I wore a pair of thin socks, went on a couple walks with my hubby and noticed my shoe was rubbing my heel due to the thin socks.

Wore the same shoes yesterday with thicker socks and a band-aid. Didn't go on any walks, although I did go to the barn twice and worked in my garden.

Today I can barely walk on that foot. The back of my left heel is red, but not swollen. I think it may be a very deep blister. If not, I don't know what it is and have no clue how to treat it. I want this to go away quickly. Any suggestions? (Please don't tell me to throw away my most comfy favorite shoes!)

I usually do my grocery shopping on Sunday, but am not going today because I don't think I could walk around the darn store. :(

2. Little Quacker in OR

Little Quacker in OR Well-Known Member

:) well Raven..LOL I take better care of the horses and dog's feet than you do of yours. Bad girl! LOL

I was having lots of foot trouble too and as I love to hike it was not something I could ignore. I strated getting "deep" soreness in the heel and sometimes in the ball of my foot and also the occasional blister.
    The Doc wanted to see what I wore for shoes, I took them into him and he told me to get some decent comfortable hiking boots, with good sturdy soles and side support. That was about four years ago, and I haven't had a sore foot since!

If you don't take care of your feet you are asking for trouble. Life is just too short to have sore feet! Toss your harmful footwear and use your head.

LQ

3. Pony

Pony Well-Known Member Supporter