how to test for water in your conduit pipe

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by comfortablynumb, Jun 11, 2004.

  1. comfortablynumb

    comfortablynumb Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,808
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Location:
    Dysfunction Junction, SW PA
    hiya
    I burried a 2" conduit pipe (pvc) and run a new 100 amp line in my house. One spot where the cable/condiut is burried is always under water from all the rain here, I didnt notic ethat before I ran it there And I actually didnt have much a choise where to run it anyhow...

    How can I make sure water isnt seeping into that conduit? the joints were glued well and it looked sealed up , but the what if deamon is eating at me...

    I have to dig that part of the pipe up to dig a drain ditch under it, id like to tap into it and see if its taking in water but then, how do I seal it back up tight?

    or should i bother?


    I dont get shocked standing in that puddle so I think thats a good sign...
     
  2. uncle Will in In.

    uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    7,154
    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    If you used cable made to be buried, the water if there is any shouldn't short it out. They make a hole sealer piece to go on the outside of pvc. It looks like a short piece of the pipe cut in half lengthways The diameter of it matches the outside diameter of the pipe being patched.
     

  3. moopups

    moopups In Remembrance

    Messages:
    7,102
    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Location:
    In beautiful downtown Sticks, near Belleview, Fl.
    If both end of the conduit are open and visable try compressed air. Any water should blow out as vapor mist. It will take an alert second person to do this test, and make sure your compressor is drained before this test so that its condensation is not misleading.
     
  4. comfortablynumb

    comfortablynumb Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,808
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Location:
    Dysfunction Junction, SW PA
    I like the patch idea, I will look for those. both ends are sealed with putty and out of the weather. i dont remember what the wore was rated for but I will check the leftover chunx and tell ya wat it is.
     
  5. Tractorman

    Tractorman Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    198
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Location:
    Danville,AL
    I am a licensed Electrician and as long as you did not nick the insulation while installing it will be fine. Worst cast all it should do is trip a breaker messing with it is likely to cause more of a problem I would forget about it.
     
  6. comfortablynumb

    comfortablynumb Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,808
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Location:
    Dysfunction Junction, SW PA
    no we were very carefull putting it in, and I glued the conduit well, and made sure it was tight and dry before we filled in.

    I guess till I start unusally poping breakers i wont worry about it.
    yeap your right... if I go picking at it iitll never be right again.