How to put weight on miking does

Discussion in 'Goats' started by GoatGirly, May 23, 2016.

1. GoatGirly

GoatGirly Well-Known Member

Hi, I'm pretty new to goats and I have 5 milking nubian does right now their all 2 year old first fresheners but one who is 4 a year old. Any way we can't get weight on them. We've been switching to different grains trying to find the best one for us. And we just wormed them. We've been getting tons and tons of rain. It's been hot and sunny one day and cold wet and rainy the next, could that be doing it?

2. jwal10

jwal10 Well-Known Member Supporter

Careful with a lot of switching, that can put them off or give sour stomach. How long have they been milking? You may never get them to gain weight while milking heavy early in the lactation, they may put it all in the bucket. Many times you just maintain until they start to dry up. Give them the best you can. If on grass they can't eat enough without getting loose. Feed good hay before turn out. Keep loose minerals available....James

cfuhrer likes this.

3. GoatGirly

Oh thanks, I didn't realize switching a lot could be really hard on them

nehimama likes this.
  4. mzgarden

mzgarden Well-Known Member

One milking doe started to lose a little weight about 8 weeks into her lactation. She is on dairy parlor commercial feed, has grass hay, baking soda, goat minerals free choice and is on the pasture all day. She is not fighting for her food as each is fed separately.
    I added a generous handful of BOSS to each of her feedings and that seemed to help. We also did a fecal test to rule out worms.

5. marusempai

marusempai Well-Known Member