How to look at a piano?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Gypsy, Jan 7, 2005.

1. Gypsy

Gypsy Well-Known Member

May be a funny question but does anyone know about pianos? I do not, but I just got a call from the foreman from my summer job who said that my old crew is to demo an old school building and there is a piano there for the taking. What sort of things should I look for? I assume that most things are serviceable but are there some things that are not? The price is right but if it cant be used then I won’t bother moving it.

PS. understand that I am not a musician (that's my DW) so please don't tell me to listen to the notes and see if a C# is really a C#.

2. southerngurl

southerngurl le person Supporter

See if all the keys work! If the tune is off, it can be fixed. Even if some keys work that can be fixed. Just generally look it over.

3. Boxermom

Boxermom Active Member

Open it up and look and see if the pads are worn down. (Where the hammer strikes). Also try to find out if it has ever been in alot of humidity. Water is a killer on pianos. Check the pedals and see if they work.

4. Windy in Kansas

Windy in Kansas In Remembrance

If free, I would opt to haul it off regardless of condition---IF the keys are ivory covered. The ivory makes excellent scrimshaw canvases/projects.

If keeping it to play I would look at the back of the piano to see if the soundboard is cracked or split. This carries the sound and if cracked won't do it properly, but will still do to practice on.

As others mentioned, open it up and look at the depression on the felt covred hammers. If little or very little depression is in them the better. I saw one a while back that nearly had ¼" depressions in them. Not good. Also observe if any of the hammers are broken off. Not likely, but I'd still take a look.

Also look at the bridle straps to see how many might be broken, if any. Easy to replace but each would add cost to repairs.