How to "cull" tiny bunnies

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by SherryB, Jan 28, 2013.

1. SherryB

SherryB Well-Known Member

I'm a newbie so I'm looking for input please. How is the best way to "cull" tiny bunnies? I just let one succumb over the course of several hours on it's own because I wasn't sure how best to end it's suffering.

2. Caprice Acres

Caprice Acres AKA "mygoat" Staff Member Supporter

You could probably take a pencil or a stick, and do a tiny version of broomstick method. Be warned that you'll probably just pop the entire head off though.

3. bluefish

bluefish Wait................what?

I just take them and bang their little heads against a pole or rail or something. You don't have to bang very hard, but more than a tap.

Caprice Acres and rabbitgeek like this.
  4. Caprice Acres

Caprice Acres AKA "mygoat" Staff Member Supporter

This is what I do, too. It's fast, humane, imposible to mess up. I usually do 2 quick bops on something, firmly. They WILL have reflexive movement but the skull is destroyed and the brains are scrambled.

rabbitgeek likes this.
  5. Dead Rabbit

Dead Rabbit Well-Known Member Supporter

skull between my boot and ground or something solid and apply pressure. no need for a stomp or anything extreme. just enough pressure that the skull is crushed.

6. BroodCoop

BroodCoop Well-Known Member

This sounds easier than what I have done. It is a little trickier but I whack 'em in the head like any rabbit.
    They are so cute I hate to do it but sooner is better than later.

7. Dead Rabbit

yup whacking on the head, you have to look and see what your doing, and you watch the whole process. this may bother some. using the "boot to the head" method my be easier for those that are more kind hearted. even after youve done the deed, they just look like sleeping lil kits. theres no real visible damage.

rabbitgeek likes this.
  8. Fat Man

Fat Man Well-Known Member