How to artificially inseminate a cow?

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by chma4, May 13, 2006.

1. chma4

chma4 Wolverton Family Farm Supporter

Hi , My name is Christina and I live in NorthWest NJ.
    I have a heifer, she is almost 18 months old. I want to have her artificially inseminated (possibly to be performed by a freind of mine who used to work for a dairy farm). What is a sure fire way to tell she is ready? I dont want him to have to come more than once to AI. She was mooing and mounting my steer this past week. I think that was her heat. Will she have another in 60 days or is that just an average? After noticing the behavior, how long do i have to get her bred? How long does semen last in a normal freezer? How long does semen last once it is thawed? How do you thaw semen, room temp? Where do you get your semen from? Does anyone out there artificially inseminate there own cows and think its doable , or do I need this freind to do it? Okay, no stupid semen jokes, Im new to AI. I just dont want a bull on my farm.
    Please, any info would help.

2. Horace Baker

Horace Baker Well-Known Member

If she stands still when one of your other bovines of any sex mounts her, she's ready.

There are 21 days between heats with cattle.

You've got up to 24 hours I'd say, but less is better.

Normal freezers are too warm for semen to survive.

Semen should be used immediately once thawed. Thawing is usually done in a water bath, although some people "pocket thaw". You can buy semen from a service like Genex, or privately from some breeders.

I would definately get an experienced friend.

3. mailman

mailman Miniature Cattle

Hi, I found a website which should answer all your questions about AI. Great site:
    http://www.iaea.org/programmes/nafa/d3/public/ai-cattle-web/index.html