How Much Milk does your goat give?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Raftercat5, Apr 2, 2006.

1. Raftercat5

Raftercat5 Kathy in S. Carolina

This is my first year and learned how to milk my one milking goat. She's a year and 3 months old. Her first babies are 3+ weeks old now. She's a nubian. Yesterday, she gave me 6 1/2 lbs. of milk! (that was her most ever yet!) I'm wondering what's normal....so, please post breed, how many freshenenings she's had, and how much milk she's giving daily, ok?
    Thanks!
    - Kathy

2. crowinghen

crowinghen Well-Known Member

Are the babies dam-raised?
    Our 4 y/o gives us 2 quarts a day 3+ weeks since freshened, with a HUGE single doeling on her. We don't seperate them... this is our first milking goat and we're happy with that amount... maybe we'll seperate them, but it's working out well for us this way.

Susie

3. Kathy'sKID

Kathy'sKID Kelly in Nebraksa

I was thinking of starting a similar post myself. Our almost 3 year old (2nd freshening) nubian has 3 week old kids. We are bottle feeding and getting anywhere from 9 lb. 10 oz. down to just 6 lbs. Majority of days are in the 8-9 pound range. I'm wondering why the wide variance?

And.....how often do you milk from the start? We started milking more often because we had extra babies we were trying to feed. They are gone now and we tried cutting back but then got a lot less milk.

4. cmharris6002

cmharris6002 Well-Known Member Supporter

I milk twice a day. My goats are Nubians. They are three weeks fresh.

Flower 5 year old fifth freshener 12lbs/day
    Clover 3 year old second freshener 10lbs/day
    DC 2 year old first freshener 8lbs/day

5. mpillow

mpillow Well-Known Member Supporter

2 weeks fresh milking on only one side...50%Nubian/25%alpine/25%toggy....3-4 lbs a day.....her mom(freshened Wed.w/doeling) will give over a gallon but I think the toggy in her makes milk strong so I'm letting baby Faith nurse...

6. AnnaS

AnnaS Well-Known Member