How much hay to expect per acre.

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Judith, Sep 24, 2004.

1. Judith

Judith Well-Known Member

Hi,
    I was wondering roughly how much hay to expect per acre. Seeded in timothy brome and very thick. I know the past owner got 3 cuttings but he has passed and the realtor doesnt have that type of info. Thanks a bunch
    JT

2. poorme

poorme Well-Known Member

I dunno, it varies widely with geography and management. Where are you? Depends what stage of development you cut it. Maybe 2.5 ton/acre.

3. Terre d'Esprit

Terre d'Esprit Boer-ing Mom

Judith-

I'm new at this, so don't take my experience as typical. I moved onto an acreage in April, and will only get 2 cuttings this year. We have a grass/alfalfa mix, over 2 different fields, which sounds much thinner than yours. Our first cutting we got about 2100 pounds per acre on average between the two fields.

I think this is definitely a "your mileage may vary" issue!

T

4. Judith

Judith Well-Known Member

hi, Location is in Manitoba so we are talking serious hay growing country. Both of those figures are great at any rate much better than I had assumed!

5. Ross

Ross Moderator Staff Member Supporter

To get a decent yeild you have to fertilize, I use 28 13 13 as typical but with soil testing you can change that somewhat. Per acre hay yeild first cut is 100-110 45 lb bales to the acre. so 4500-5000lbs. Second cut is half that and third somewhat less more if you add fertilizer after second cut.

6. cloverfarm

cloverfarm Well-Known Member