Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
1 acre homesteaders
864 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to sheep. Was wondering what price was good for a lamb and at what age/weight we should get them? We are looking to grow out for 6-8 months and butcher late fall. Anyone in Midcoast Maine selling lambs? Thanks for any help you all can offer.

Mark

·
Registered
281 Posts
Don't know about your region, but over here you get spring weanlings from late May to July for $75-$80 a head. You want them to be around 4 months old a few younger or older is fine and weighing 80+ pounds. I would recomend a blackface breed because they are bred for meat and are quicker to mature to market weight than your wool breeds. Feed them through the summer butcher in October awesome freezer meat.

·
In memoriam
79,016 Posts
Around here an 80 lb lamb will bring at least $130. If you figure on getting half the weight in edible meat, then thats only $3.25 per lb, compared to $9.99 per lb for lamb chops or $5.99 for a leg at the grocery store

That not an auction or "sale barn" price though. Thats what I get selling off the farm for pasture raised Dorpers.

·
FourCountryGals.com
149 Posts
We generally get about $1.00 a pound for live lambs. Right now, I've got two lambs listed on Craigslist for 110 a piece, and they weigh at least 100 pounds.

Last year we got 125 for each of the two lambs we sold, and when they went to market, they were 7 months old and weighed close to 130 pounds.

At auction, they're bringing more like 75 to 80 cents a pound for market lambs.

·
1 acre homesteaders
864 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
about 100 miles, 2-21/2 hours away. We are on a tight budget and are looking to save money, not start a flock just now, as we don't have the space to sustain any more than 3 or 4. We are looking for something to buy/raise/slaughter to provide quality meat(besides our wonderful chicken) for our family.

mark

·
Premium Member
1,691 Posts