how much feed for a 260lber?

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by dgiehtbrock, Jul 20, 2004.

1. dgiehtbrock

dgiehtbrock New Member

I'm new to pigs and want to convince the wife that it it worth the costs.

Can anybody tell me how much feed it would take to raise a 30 to 40 weaner to 260lb? I'm thinking about just buying the 16% pig grower in the store. I think they will convert 4 to 1 on the average but is that really true?

I do have unshelled corn available too, but I'm going with the worst case senario on costs.

Thanks

2. uncle Will in In.

uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter

They should do a 1 to 3 conversion or better on the 16% feed. They older they get, the poorer the conversion rate gets.
    I wonder if some of the homstead pig raisers are neglecting to worm their pigs. A gut full of worms will eat as much as the pig.

3. dgiehtbrock

dgiehtbrock New Member

thanks, I will check on wormer costs too!

4. Mrs_stuart

Mrs_stuart Well-Known Member

We wormed with Wazine17 to worm our hogs. It is low cost but effective. I think we paid under $5 for it and we are only raising 2 so it should be all that we need. Read the label well before you actually use it.

The cost is well worth it. My hubby had to convience me to do it and after we did, i was very happy. We loved the meat and used it all winter. We did one hog last year and are doing 2 this year. We havent bought any meat from the store since nov. of last year and we ran out last month. We also eat our chickens, turkeys and ducks and ground turkey from the store (if we run low).
    The way you "have" it butchered is the key to a lot of it, if you ask me. We had all of our hams sliced into ham steaks because there are just four of us and it made for a lot of meals insted of only 4 hams. The meat is so much better and better for you. Good luck with the wife.

Belinda

5. Night Owl

Night Owl Active Member