how might one keep a tree diary at each tree?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Paul Wheaton, Oct 2, 2006.

1. Paul Wheaton

Paul Wheaton Well-Known Member

Forgive me if this comes off a little "woo woo", but I had a bit of an idea and I cannot imagine how to implement it - so I'm fishing for help.

I just spent the weekend at an orchard that was beautiful and gut wrenching at the same time. This orchard has not been cared for for several years. It needs pruning, mulching, care, etc. About 40 people came and harvested from 50 trees. While I have a lot of knowledge and experience down this road, I really tried to keep my pie hole shut and be a participant. Afterward a few of us were talking about coming in a few times a year to do a few simple things to help the orchard be a little healthier.

I saw was a lot of waste and a lot of ignorance. I really felt like (and here is a woo woo part) like the trees were not being respected. I don't feel like much of a woo woo guy, but I really felt the tree hugger in me coming out at this event.

I got to thinking ... what if each tree had some kind of little notebook. Something where you can list what was done with each tree when; What the fruit looks like when it is ripe; is it a keeper? is it good for applesauce? is it good for cider? When is the fruit ripe? What kind of care does this tree like? What kind of special care is good for this tree?

I've tried some things for my own trees in the past with mixed results. I tried labeling the trees with a lot of this sort of information encased in laminate. But the wind would wear them down and they all ended up coming apart and flying away. Then I tried a firberglass post with a keychain with an acrylic picture frame with the edges sealed in silicone. But the chain would break. Besides, I would like the ability to add notes about the tree while I am standing there with it.