Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,527 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just a curiosity... the girls are using them to "train" their goats... to do what will be a surprise to all of us I'm sure.

In the past all the fruit that fell off the trees was tossed out to the goats and none ever died so I'm taking that as a good sign... had a couple stung by bees but that's about it. Anyone had any bad experiences with this?

·
Registered
299 Posts
Umm, if they are not used to getting pears on a regular basis, more than 1 or 2 per goat is too many. . No, I have no experience with it. I have, however, read a number of posts from other people who did that weren't as lucky as you.

·
Registered
2,287 Posts
I would maybe cut the pears into small slices for them to use for treats, or see about using something that is a normal part of their diets. Everything in moderation. Goats don't do too well with large diet changes, so do be careful.

·
Be powerful. No other option exists.
40,189 Posts
On this forum, we try to avoid snarky phrasing that implies someone else has been less than a good goat keeper. It keeps things calmer.

·
Registered
12,333 Posts
If you feed things to your goats, and don't know the consequences thereof, one has to assume that either one is ignorant (kinder word than stupid) or just hasn't lost any goats to negligence yet.

I've lost goats to negligence... and learned the 'hard' way. I was stupid, but only stupid once.

Goats are grazers.... traditionally they had shepherds, that knew that they should only eat browse, and not get into a neighboring farmers field and bloat on eating the wrong things....

I'd not feed goats any fruit, other than a bite...

·
Registered
4,753 Posts
Okay - post cleaned up a little.
In the future... we all ask questions.
There are no wrong questions :)

Thanks all, play nice!

·
Registered
1,274 Posts