How many of you out there

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Wolf mom, Apr 8, 2006.

1. Wolf mom

Wolf mom Well-Known Member

are female homesteading by yourself? How do you handle everything? Are some things just tooo heavy, tooo large?

Just wondering 'cause I am at 62. I'm still in the getting things going stage or moving things to a better location stage. I seem to be slowing down a tad - takes me twice as long to do half as much, but then, I want to wave a magic wand and have it all picture perfect. Yes, I do enjoy the process - as I feel that's where it's at, but...

I sure feel good though, when I accomplish something I've never done before!

How about you all?

2. Freeholder

Freeholder Well-Known Member

I'm not exactly by myself, as I live with my grandmother and my youngest daughter. But Grandma is 92, going on 93, and slowing down quite a bit (she can still just about out-work me, though!). My daughter is mentally handicapped, autistic, and other than once in a while doing 'gopher' type stuff she's no help at all. So the outdoor stuff I do pretty much by myself.

I try to work smart, and figure out how to do things by myself before wading in. If it's something where I'm going to HAVE to have help, I'll catch whatever visitor comes along -- maybe my mother, or a friend from church. My uncle has come down from Walla Walla (an eight hour drive) and helped us out several times with things. I'm also having to be careful not to bite off more than I can chew. I'm 49, so figure I ought to have a few good years left, especially if I do as well as Grandma (and my other grandmother did well until she suddenly died when she was 91). But I wish I had a young person who was interested and wanted to work and learn, and someday inherit whatever we built together.

:hobbyhors (I just put this in here, because my daughter saw it and loves it -- she has a stick horse she rides, even though she's 26!)

Kathleen

3. greyhound girl