How many Milking

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by AnnB, Apr 25, 2005.

1. AnnB

AnnB Member

I've been milking for about 6 years now. I've milked Jerseys, Miniature Jerseys, Jersey/Holsteins, and Jersey/Guernseys and as far as I'm concerned you can't beat a straight Jersey, whether Standard or Miniature.

The one I'm currently milking is a 2 year old (mid-) Miniature Jersey heifer, she's 43", 650 lbs, and giving about 3-1/2 gallons a day.
    The 5 year old that's due to freshen in July is also a (mid-) Miniature Jersey, but she's a bit bigger. She's 45", 850 lbs (okay, she's fat), and normally gives 5-6 gallons a day.

Ann B

2. Tom McLaughlin

Tom McLaughlin Tom

I'm milking one with two dry and about to calf.. Milking 3 years. Only have had Jerseys so don't know of other breeds but sure would buy the Jersey again. Tom

3. Haggis

Haggis MacCurmudgeon

I'm only milking two Jerseys just now, but I hope to have my 3 Milking Devon heifers and another Jersey heifer up and going by next year.

My goal is to have 3 and maybe 4 cows freshening each spring and another 3 or 4 freshening each fall; much like our friend Ronney.

However, there is much temptation to have a small herd of house cows freshening in the fall so that Herself and I would have our summers free for canoeing and fishing the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness, visiting family in other states (geographical and otherwise), and generally taking a break for a couple of months. Who knows, maybe I would ride my Harley and use our camper a bit before they rust into the ground?

4. Ksar

Ksar Member

I milk a Lineback/Holstein cross, have been for 2 years(well with a breif vacation while dry). If I had to buy another, I would buy them same. If I could find another. I get 5 gallons a day and meaty calves from the cross. I have a couple of Jersey crosses but they have not calved yet.

Kathy

5. DaleK

DaleK Well-Known Member