How many cows and what type.

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by daytrader, Dec 5, 2005.

1. daytrader

daytrader Well-Known Member

I am pretty new to cattle. I have 3 acres with a great established pasture of mixed grasses.

The fence type is 5 strand 12.5 g high tension line with 2 of them electric.

How many cows and what type should I look for?

I have no problem bringing in extra feed when needed.

So how many is about the right number for 3 acres?

I would like to put one horse and maybe 6 cattle out there. Is that to many or can I put more?

The water will be rain water run off from my rain gutters and hose filled water tanks. The pasture area is cut in half and I can rotate is needed.

The shelter is a lean too type steel building facing the east. Walls on 3 sides.

Any other help would be greatly appricated.

I get little help around here. Most have said if you do not know then you should not get any cattle. I was thinking WOW, must be nice coming out of the woom as a cattle man.

2. warrior

warrior Well-Known Member

Calves, cow/calf, dairy all have different needs. Feeder calves would be the maximum at that stocking rate if your goal is to feed them off on summer grass and slaughter/sell in the fall. A cow with calf by her side would use just about all of the 3 acres. For dairy You might want to limit to one especially if a horse will be in with it. If hay and feed were brought in then you might be able to add one, of course that would be in addition to the hay fed in winter.

3. JeffNY

JeffNY Seeking Type