How many acres do I need?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by beorning, May 23, 2006.

1. beorning

beorning Well-Known Member

We're looking at buying land and starting a homestead in five years. For reasons beyond my control, we need to stay in an area where land prices are ridiculously high, limiting the size of the parcel we will be able to purchase. I'm a bit of a rookie, but I have a general idea of what I'm wanting to do, and was wondering if anyone could give me a rough idea of what is feasible on a 10-15 acre parcel.

Here's the short list:

I'd like to raise highland cattle. For meat and milk for our own use, and maybe for the odd animal to sell. I'm thinking 5-7 animals maximum.

I'd like to raise sheep for wool and meat. 10 animals maximum.

We'll be raising egg chickens as well as running 50-100 broilers in tractors each year.

rabbits, maybe 20 tops

I'd like to keep bees.

We'd like a woodlot big enough to provide around 4 cords of wood per year.

I'd like a small pond that's big enough to raise fish in. Not attached to the kind of fish, except for not wanting carp.

We'll want a big garden.

We're very much in the planning process right now, and I'm just trying to figure out how much I can do on the least amount of land. There are per acre livestock limits here that don't apply on parcels bigger than 8 acres. But I'm not wanting to crowd things.

Any advice would be appreciated.

2. albionjessica

albionjessica Hiccoughs after eating

Are you planning on growing the hay and other feeds for your animals on your land? What kind of crops will you plant for your own personal use? What percentage of your yearly intake of grains, fruits, and veggies would you like to be able to raise on your homestead? Are you planning on pasturing your sheep, cattle, and chickens? I personally think meat and eggs taste better from pastured livestock than from penned-up animals, but you could save a lot of space if you decided not to pasture.

3. beaglady