How Long Do You Milk??

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by barnyardfun, Mar 31, 2005.

1. barnyardfun

barnyardfun Happy Homemaker Supporter

Okay please remember that I am new to all this so sorry if I as silly questions.

Just Curious......

Thanks to Quailkeeper my dream of having a Jersey should come true within the next couple months. Since she has already been so nice to help me I didn't want to hound her with questions........

My husband has milked cows before so we have the general idea of that and I know it will take a lot of practice (hopefully the cow won't hate me by the time I learn!! :) ) One of my questions is How Long Can You Milk??

I know that when they first have the calf you have to let them be because of the colostrium (sp?) but when do you start milking and how long can you milk?? Is it okay to milk them when they are pregnant?? Won't that hurt the baby?? Etc.

Please if you could just explain the general idea of this to me I would really appreciate it!!

Sorry I am just kinda ignorant in this area! :no: I really want to learn though.
    I WILL FOREVER BE GRATEFUL!!

2. Momof8kiddoes

Momof8kiddoes Well-Known Member

Do you have the book Keeping a Family Cow?
    Its very good, and goes into this.
    If you breed her within a few months of her calving, you will want to dry her off about 8 weeks before she calves again (this is what Ive read, dont know if its a matter of opinion or not though).
    Ive also known people that will milk for 2 years straight...I think some people dont agree with it..but I dont know the pros and cons either way.
    There now..Ive helped (confuse you even more)...lol
    Mary F.

3. barnyardfun

barnyardfun Happy Homemaker Supporter

THANK YOU! I will look for that book! And no you did not confuse me even more (I don't think that is possible at times! :eek: ) You were perfectly clear to me though. Thanks for the info.

Will welcome more info too.......personal experience, opinions, anything!

4. melwynnd