how late for watermelons?

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by trixiwick, Sep 9, 2004.

1. trixiwick

trixiwick bunny slave

This is my first time growing watermelons, and I'm getting anxious that they won't ripen before the weather gets too cold. I have about eight melons of various sizes, but the largest of them is maybe 9" in diameter. They have been getting plenty of sun and water, and just seem to be growing painnnnnfullly sloooowww. Can anyone tell me if this is normal? I planted the seeds way back at the end of April! :(

2. southerngurl

southerngurl le person Supporter

No, that's not normal. Hmmm... They like alot of sun, you said they have that. They also like loose soil and lots of room to spread roots. Did you give them any compost/fertilizer?

3. trixiwick

trixiwick bunny slave

They do have plenty of sun, though it has been a less-sunny summer than usual, as well as less hot, so that might be part of it. The soil is very good, and I use bunny poop as fertilizer, which seems to work well for everything else. I am drowning in tomatoes! But still, eight little watermelons plod along and look like they might freeze before they ripen. I wonder if I might have stepped on some of the vines and damaged the plants, even though they don't look damaged?? Maybe I'm reaching here, but I'd like to figure out what I did wrong so I don't do it again!

4. Wilbur

Wilbur Well-Known Member

can I cover the melons with some kind of protective plastic or something to give them extra time and heat. I have seen it done when plants are put out early but didn't know if it would work at the end of the season.

Mine are in a similar situation to yours (I am in MA) and I fear I am running out of time! But I didn't know if a protective cover of any type would need to cover the entire plant versus just the melons.

I welcome any ideas!

5. OD

OD Well-Known Member