How does registering work?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by WolfSoul, Sep 19, 2004.

1. WolfSoul

WolfSoul Well-Known Member

I'm trying to figure out how an unregistered animal can be registered as an American Alpine or Nubian when it didn't have papers. Am I misunderstanding the American Dairy Goat papers or can they eventually be registered if someone from the organization certifies the unregistered animal and then each successive generation can be registered a little higher up in the "chain?" Sorry for the unconventional terms, but I'm new to this. Thanks, Karen

2. Wendy

Wendy Well-Known Member

I'll take a stab at this. :)

We will use Nubians for my example. If you have a Nubian doe of unknown parentage that conforms to breed standards, it can be registered as Native On Appearance. A member from ADGA has to write a note saying the goat meets the standards of that breed. That is sent in with a registration application. You will get brown papers back saying the goat is registered NOA. (native on appearance)

You then breed this doe to a purebred buck. The kids from the breeding can be registered & come back with papers saying they are 50% Nubian.

Breed the 50% doe kid with another purebred buck & the kids can be registered as 75%.

Breed doe kids from that breeding to a purebred buck & their kids can be registered as American Nubians. They will never be able to be registered as Purebred no matter how many times you breed to a purebred buck. They will reach American status & that is as far as it goes. That is why a lot of breeders don't like Americans, because somewhere, generations back, there is unknown blood.

Hope that made sense. :D

3. DayBird

DayBird Big Bird