How do you make one?

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by silverjump, Jan 2, 2005.

1. silverjump

silverjump New Member

I'm getting pretty board just living in the middle of nowher with nothing to do so I was wondering if anyone had any tips on making a longbow. I know a site that explains it, but without any figures/pics it's kinda hard to get around certain parts. Are there any books worth getting? I'd like to get a copy of each book to the Bowyer's Bible vol. 1-3 but I've read at some sites that it is a little to complex for the complete beginner. I also was wondering if anyone know where I could pic up a draw knife and a hand plane. Thanks for the input.

2. moopups

moopups In Remembrance

In beautiful downtown Sticks, near Belleview, Fl.
    Hope you got a real tall coffee mug and a bunch brewin,just put 'homemade long bow' into google, there is 1,970,000 sites.

PS. Welcome new poster, we are growing at about 400 per month nowdays.

3. Big country

Big country Well-Known Member

THE BOWYER'S CRAFT.....by Jay Massey
    several others at librarie but I can't remember the names.

4. Caleob K.

Caleob K. Member

I've got Volume 1. There is alot of inforation in it, but I wouldn't say it was overly complex.

As for the tools, ebay has a nice selection of drawknives both used and new.

5. moopups

moopups In Remembrance

In beautiful downtown Sticks, near Belleview, Fl.
  6. Moopups, that is a interesting site. I will have to visit it more.