Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone :) I'm very new to goats, but am considering some Nigerian Dwarfs as a start for a backyard dairy herd. One thing I'm not clear on: how you go about milking them by hand? The teats are much smaller that standard breeds, and I've been told by ND owners that this requires a "two finger" method. Anyone care to elaborate?

·
Registered
1,130 Posts
Instead of squeezing the teat with the whole hand, you squeeze it between the thumb and forefinger. Some Nigies have longer, wider teats that you would milk by encircling the base with the forefinger & thumb. Kinda hard to explain without pictures.

First fresheners of all breeds can have small, short teats that have to be milked with the "two finger" method. It gives me awful hand cramps.But there are lots of Nigerian owners that have no problems. It's what you get used to.

Be aware that there are a lot of Pygmies posing as "unregistered" Nigerians. Pygmies are unsuitable for dairy animals. Ask for registration papers & compare tattoos.

·
Registered
3,606 Posts
It depends on the goat. You can get NDs with LOVELY teats, and that really should be one of your goals, even if you aren't planning to hand milk. Also, look for goats with large orifices so you don't have to work as hard to expel the milk from the teat.

Check the archives here, I posted a couple of times about the various techniques I use to hand milk my NDs. I did use the two-finger approach at first and sometimes I fall back on it if the udder is very full so that I can't get my whole hand effectively on the teat, but now I usually use the whole-hand method that you use with a bigger goat.

You should also notice that as your does age and freshen more, especially if they are milked regularly and nurse kids, the teats will grow slightly over time.

·
Registered
3,606 Posts