Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Knitting Rocks!
5,783 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well, since I possibly have my girls all bred, while they are in milk, can you tell me how to know when to start drying them up? Should I just guess to start drying them off in 3 months, or is there some way to tell ?? Will a goat in milk 'bag up' ?? I will hate being without milk for 2 months or more!
I didnt plan it this way, but I think the buck did. :cool:

·
Knitting Rocks!
5,783 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
well, it is good to know I can do it one month ahead, not two! But - (as you can tell) I am new to this, so I am just wondering if it will be obvious to me that they are that close?? Hate to dry one off and her not be bred or due.
Sorry if I am being dense, I guess I just dont get it.

·
Knitting Rocks!
5,783 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well, my buck has been in there several times in the last month... so I guess that puts us mid november to mid december. I guess that is where I am getting nervous,,, not knowing for sure.

·
Be powerful. No other option exists.
38,825 Posts
When did he start doing the tongue flappy, leg pawing, tinkle on himself behaviors? That may help narrow it down a bit.

·
Registered
1,723 Posts
I dry my does off two months before their due date.

·
Knitting Rocks!
5,783 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Well, I was just quizing my children,,, "when did Travaler start stinking?"
well, DS 7 yr old says "what doya mean, he always stinks!" LOL!
looking at the calender, I believe it was around the 8th of July, with a few escaping episodes around mid June.
I was real busy the week of the 4th (we run a fireworks warehouse) so I was just here enough to milk, feed, leave. :grump: He could have been 'stinky' then too. But I know he stayed in his pen.

·
Registered
4,124 Posts
They might not be pregnant at all. I would watch them and the buck for the next three months to make sure they don't come into heat and not get bred.