How do i measure water in casing

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by sisterpine, Sep 1, 2004.

1. sisterpine

sisterpine Goshen Farm Supporter

this week we drilled the well i have been saving for for the past 5 years. we are now the proud owner of a 360 foot dry hole! wont even go into how i am feeling about this 8000.00 dissapointment.

the driller said the well hole (through solid granite) would slowly seep water into it and would be up to 200-300 gals. i must say if i could get 200 gals of water out of this hole each week or two i would be very very happy. i know how to measure how deep the water in the hole is but i do not know the formula for how many inches of water in a six inch casing equals how many gals? anyone out there a math type whiz who an help me with this? TIA Kathleen

2. agmantoo

agmantoo agmantoo Supporter

1.47 gallons per foot

3. uncle Will in In.

uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter

Pie R squared X 3 x depth of water in inches divided by 231

That would be roughly a gallon and a half per foot.

4. sisterpine

Thanks soooo much guys! I just measured the water in feet and there are 320 feet of water at 1.45 gal per foot equals 464 gals of water! WOW that will work, now I just gotta figure out the best way to get it out of the well a couple of times to flush the well!

5. Cyngbaeld

Cyngbaeld In Remembrance Supporter

I near bout cried when you said you had a dry well. I sure hope it keeps giving you enough water. Did the well diggers say anything about 'fracting' it? Do you have a pump?

6. agmantoo

7. agmantoo