How do I find out what's REALLY in the feed?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by BrahmaMama, Nov 22, 2005.

1. BrahmaMama

BrahmaMama Well-Known Member

I'm kind of new to goats too and I just read the thread on "What's Grain?"
    I have a Pigmy goat (for 4 weeks now). When I went to the feed store to get him feed I asked "Do you have Goat Chow?" They said "All you need is this - Multi Purpose Livestock Feed" :confused:
    Now, I don't know how your bags are labelled in the States, I imagine better because your food standards are higher than ours, but I want to know what's in this stuff.
    There are no ingredients listed and when I do searches for feed content info on the Net, of coarse all of these sites are run by you know who, and to say the least, are VERY vague.
    So, the stuff I'm feeding Nigel looks like this:
    Lots of green pellets
    a few crushed corn bits (he eats those first)
    It smells sweet like molasses but not like sweet feed, I've seen that before. I once in a while add oats to it (he dosen't favour those. And he's really putting on the weight.
    Should this stuff be okay? Maybe just reduce the amount? How many cups should a pigmy goat get?
    Thanks in advance.

2. pookshollow

pookshollow Pook's Hollow

I'm in Ontario too. My goats are getting dairy ration formulated for cows. I buy from a local feed mill, where the guys behind the counter actually know what's in the feed! Urea is very bad for goats, and it's a common protein source for cattle, so that was my first question to the staff - and, no, they don't put urea in their feed.

I'm guessing you bought at TSC? They're really bad for not labelling their feed, so I don't buy there.