Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
23,497 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am studying a book called Carrots Love Tomatoes which discusses companion planting. I am taking notes to make a chart with the plants that like and dislike one another with the intention of plotting out the perfect raised bed plant arrangement. Thoughout the book it talks about not planting certain plants close to one another. But it never mentions just how far apart these plants need to be. So how close is too close????

·
Animal Addict
12,209 Posts
If the tomato can reach the offending vegetable with a knife, he is too close. However, if he needs to aim down the barrell of a gun, he might be too far away. The ability to take out a cabbage with a slingshot in the heat of an argument is probably the right distance.

Sorry, couldn't resist!!

·
Premium Member
24,573 Posts
And if the onions make the other vegetables cry it's probably much to close to them.

If the other veggies lean away from the garlic, the garlic is to close to them.

·
Registered
3,894 Posts
Melissa, plant spacing in gardening is very much up for debate. Our native American ancestors used to plant veggies close together, close enough to climb and rely on one another for support and/or shade, such as in the 3 sisters method. Many people (including me) advocate double row spacing where you plant two rows (especially corn and beans and peas) within 3 or 4 inches of each other and separate the double rows by a couple of feet. In square foot gardening, plants are usually planted closer together than in any conventional "American" gardening system. Each method works equally well.

·
Premium Member
7,215 Posts