How can you tell hay from straw?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by valschickens, Nov 24, 2004.

1. valschickens

valschickens Big Brother's Watching

Yeah, I'm a newbie to this whole farming thing, but lovin' every minute of it!! The house we moved into has a chicken coop, and inside it has about 6 bales of either hay or straw. How can I tell the difference? And why is this important?

Thank you in advance for your help!!

Val

2. momofeight

momofeight Active Member

Hay is green and straw is yellow.

3. jefferson

jefferson fuzzball in the Cascades

you beat me to it momof8. But your forgot. If it's full of poop, it may have other colors too

4. mammabooh

mammabooh Metal melter Supporter

And, straw is usually used for bedding and animals eat hay. Hay has lots of good nutritious goodies in it...straw is just left over from harvesting wheat or oats.

5. momofeight

momofeight Active Member

LOL!

6. tooltime

tooltime Border Ruffian

If it's still in bales, I doubt if it has "other colors" in it. If it's been sitting around, the hay could be sunbleached/weathered to not be close to green anymore.

Straw should have bigger, flatter stems compared to alfalfa or grass hay. Straw bale might have some oat or wheat or barley hulls in the chaff from the bale.

7. Windy in Kansas

Windy in Kansas In Remembrance

Hay is an immature crop, i.e. harvested before the crop has produced mature seed.

Straw is the residue that remains after threshing a mature crop for seed. Straw may have empty threshed heads or a few immature heads but shouldn't have much in the line of seed. HOWEVER some combine operators still don't have a clue as to how to set their machine and will throw a considerable portion of the grain out the back, which will wind up in bales of straw.