hoof trimmers?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by dk_40207, May 15, 2006.

1. dk_40207

dk_40207 Well-Known Member

I don't mean to be so all over the board here, but I need to take advantage of all of these rainy days, and get all of my online stuff done..

I need hoof trimmers in a bad way. HOWEVER, all they have at the local farm stores are "footrot" trimmers. Are these the same thing? Help!
    Nanny has one hoof that is turning under. It is strange, and since I'm new at this, I may even post a pic of it to see what some verterans might do:)
    But, I need the trimmers, all the same.

Have a blessed day!
    Christina

2. PLPP

PLPP Boer Lover

3. full sun

full sun Well-Known Member

Hi Christina,

Foot rot shears are what you can use. And as far as the hoof turning under, you just have to get in there and trim it. Just get the blade in from the back (or anyway you can) and cut. I just keep trimming until the side is flat with the white middle part.

good luck!

Jennifer

4. pookshollow

pookshollow Pook's Hollow

I use pruning shears, and sometimes on the really small hooves, I'll use wirecutters. Like Red Green always says "you can use any tool as any other tool - at least once." :dance: I've heard that a tough pair of scissors can work too.

5. midkiffsjoy

midkiffsjoy Bedias, Texas

Make sure you pick up a "hoof pick" from the horse aisle. It will come in handy!!!

btw....Keep them in the house. I kept the "tool box" in the garage out of the weather and all my stuff hoof trimmers/nippers/hoof pick all RUSTED. In 3 months. I dont know how, but I dont want that to happen to you too. Theres just too much stuff that needs doing on a ranch/farm to throw money away on "replacement" tools. cringe.

6. westbrook

westbrook In Remembrance

pruning shears is what I use.. and I wear a glove on the hand holding the hoof!

7. wooly1s

wooly1s Well-Known Member

Definately wear the leather gloves...and keep your tetanus shots up to date=)