Homesteading with modern equipment????

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by barnyardfun, Apr 7, 2005.

1. barnyardfun

barnyardfun Happy Homemaker Supporter

I am new to homesteading.......I am a stay at home mom of two for about a year now. When I quit my job to stay at home I thought that would be the fix I needed to get my life in order and slow down and enjoy it. Well, I love being at home with my kids but it's just not enough!! I have decided that I want to do the homesteading thing......many reasons, don't like town and the way businesses can control your life, love animals, country is so relaxing, etc. Anyway we had a house moved in right in the middle of my inlaws 160 acres. Now I have decided that I want to change to the simple life and get rid of all these modern stresses. Problem is we can't move because we can't sell the land because it is not ours and owe to much on the house to just leave it behind. I want so bad to move out in the boonies miles and miles away from everything!! Currently we live 30min from town and have plenty of neighbors even though it is farms out here I am beginning to feel REALLY crowded!

My point in all this is I need some ideas of how to feel like I am homesteading with all this modern stuff around me!!! EX. television, electric everything, computer (with I refuse to give up because you guys are the only ones who support my dream of homesteading!), etc.

I have started a garden, have chickens, some cows, will get a milk cow, have pigs, cats, dogs..........I think that is all right now.

Does anyone have any idea how I can feel like I am self-reliant/homesteading when I can't get away from this life!!!!??????

I know this sounds silly but it is just a feeling I have inside that is hard to express, I guess I just feel trapped and I can't get away from the things I want no part of!