Homesteading Village

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Morriagiolla, Jun 22, 2005.

1. Morriagiolla

Morriagiolla Well-Known Member

Hey all.....I am a newbie, but very much a homesteader at heart....I live in town.....but own my own garden.....herbs mostly.

:confused: A group of close friends and I are looking into starting a homesteading village....any ideas and or tips you can think of?

2. WanderingOak

WanderingOak Well-Known Member

It depends on how you want to do it. If I were to create a 'homesteading village' myself, I would have individual homes privately owned, with space for small individually owned gardens. That way, if somebody wants to leave, they can be bought out with no significant financial loss to them. The fields, pasture, barn, 'village green', etc., would be commonly owned and worked by the community. For people just joining, visitors, etc. , there should be some sort of a common house with hotel-style accomidations (or perhaps just crash space with matresses on the floor). I would also definitely have some sort of a screening process for new residents who might want to join. There are all kinds of nutcases out there, and I wouldn't want to become a halfway house wandering tranients, and whatnot. Also, while I am very much a libertarian, I believe a functioning community needs to have some sort of rules, be they formally written down and agreed to in the presence of a lawyer, or just an informal unwritten code of conduct. It would definitely help if there was an agreed-upon leader with a unifying vision for what the vilage should be doing, rather than a committee which could wind up pulling the village in half a dozen directions at onece. Again, this is just how I would do it.

If you are going in on this with friends, I'd be careful. Liveing cheek-to jowl can definitely try a friendship, especially if there is a mix of singles and couples.

3. Morriagiolla

1. Criosta an Ri Church (denomonation unclear at this point)