Homesteading Heroine, or wishful thinker....you decide!

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by michelleIL, Oct 9, 2004.

1. michelleIL

michelleIL tryna be His

Got a question I want to throw out to all you seasoned veterans. I'm a college student who also works, and I was reading the post from Sancraft that talked about various ways of getting her homestead up an running by buying a trailer and moving it to her property while she builds. I know that if a person buys a trailer in a park, you'll only have to pay lot rent, yet you'll be responsible for any and ALL maintenance and upkeep, pest control, etc.
    How feasable do you all think it would be for someone in my shoes to buy a place like that, and live in a park, and still work, go to school...etc....do you think I would be biting off more than I could chew?

2. AngieM2

AngieM2 Big Front Porch advocate Supporter

WE'll I live in a "trailer" in a small park, I work, I do volunteer stuff, and have family, and I have Sancraft and daughters over when they have good transportation that's not been in a wreck.

I don't see how living in a trailer in a park would be any more difficult than in an apartment, and at least you don't have shared walls. And can paint or fix up the inside of your place as you wish. If you purchase a used home then you'd feel even more at liberty to make it yours by paint and such, cause mine is a new one, and is now about 6 years old and I'm just now thinking about painting the walls and some stuff to customize it more.

On the outside, I cannot do much of any trimming of bushes or trees (the owner really really likes them), but plant flowers, have mint, or I'm thinking of bringing in some straw bales in the spring and making a decorative area and plant strawberries or tomato plants in them for a garden. Don't do much cause I'm totally under trees and shaded.

Pick your "park" carefully and you should do okay.